RSS

Words Endure

24 Nov

“Colors fade, temples crumble, empires fall, but wise words endure.”
– Edward Thorndike

Long before I ever picked up a video camera or typed the words “Fade In” at the top of my first film script, I was in love with the written word.  As a child, I spent at least an hour each night before going to sleep, reading a book in my room.  When I grew too old to play with toys, I turned to the written word to express the many ideas that could no longer find voice through the clattering of plastic.  Even before I sat down and wrote a stage play about a heroic rebellion struggling against a cruel and oppressive church – a story that would define me creatively for the better part of a decade – I had already crafted a dozen tales that few, if any, would ever read.

I’ve had a number of blogs over the course of the past five years.  Some of them stuck around, others did not, but none were attended to regularly.  They fell by the wayside, their purpose spent or worn out, or no longer interesting to me.  It was a disappointment each time, although I knew some day I would “get it together” and begin something I would return to regularly.

Some day is today.  At this point in my life, I have precious little free time.  No time for films.  No time for very much at all, really.  But there is always time to write.  It is a pursuit that requires little more than a paper and pencil – or, perhaps in a pinch, a cell phone with a Memo Pad feature.  Lately, I find I am accumulating a lot of thoughts, notes, and observations that are begging for expression, begging to find life.

It is for those ideas, as well as others, that I begin this blog.  This is my first step on the journey to becoming a published author.  It will be a long journey, no doubt, and a worthy tale in its own right;  a tale fraught with uncertainty and drama, love and rejection, anticipation and defeat.  It is the stuff great fiction is made of.

I hope together we will find words that inspire, words that touch, words that sadden, words that uplift… and most of all, words that will endure.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2009 in Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Words Endure

  1. Matt W

    November 24, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Good luck,man. I hope you find the time to write regularly. Are you planning to try your hand at a novel?

     
    • joshuadmaley

      November 24, 2009 at 3:29 pm

      Thanks. Yes, I do plan on a serious novel attempt; been kicking it around for awhile, now. I just need to settle on a direction and educate myself a bit more about the rather daunting process until it’s not so daunting anymore. Who knows, maybe “Clash” will find life on the page after all, ha ha.

       

Leave a Reply

 
